College Rebellion Op: DIY with Structure

Heya folks.  Sorry it’s been so long.  I’m working real hard to get back on track – been writing many entries to post over the next few months – but until then I am sure I look like the laziest person on the planet.  If you’ve written me an e-mail in the past very-long-time, I apologize so very hard for my tardiness in responding.  If “I didn’t expect to be this popular” was any kind of excuse, I’d probably use it.  But since it sounds rather cocky, I won’t, and I’ll just plead for your mercy and beseech you to have faith that I will remedy all behind-ness in a very short amount of time forthcoming.

In the meantime, I know y’all are looking for answers and solutions.  In the past I’ve provided several reasons to quit college and reasons why I’m not going anymore, etc.  Okay, you get the point.  So in the future I want to focus more on what you peeps can proactively do to give yourself your own “higher level” education.  I’ll be providing resources,  ideas, tools, encouragement and inspiration, and anything else I can think of.  Often ideas are generated from the needs I see you have through the e-mails you send me.  So even though I am kind of pathetic at writing back (just now!  I vow to change my ways!), keep writing me with your stories, questions, feedback, suggestions, etc.!  The purpose of this blog is to help you, not for me to have a place to rant incessantly.

Speaking of providing resources, I happen to be “in cahoots” to some degree with a fellow who offers trips and programs for self-directed teens and young adults.  His name is Blake Boles and he will very soonly start working out of Asheville, NC, in the beautiful mountains just a few hours west of my own home in Raleigh.  Zero Tuition College is his program aimed at young adults with the message that  you can get that widely preached “higher education” without having to pay tens of thousands of dollars to an institution that will eat away four years of your young life, stick you with tons of debt afterwards, and probably not teach you what you want to know in the way that you learn best.

Ah!  Finally, someone who understands!

What’s really awesome is he has a 4-day, 3-night program coming up in mid-October in Asheville.  It’s called “Zero Tuition College Camp” and will be an intimate, jam-packed weekend full of “ZTC-oriented workshops, discussions, and activities. You’ll leave with a detailed plan for skipping college, lots of inspiration, and a cohort of new friends and mentors.”  And it’s only $200 for accommodations, breakfasts and dinners, and all the activities and workshops.

Oh, here’s the link: http://www.unschooladventures.com/?page=trips/ztc11

 

I’m definitely going, and I’ll be making y’all’s dinners.  So… be there!  I want to meet you!

Zero Tuition College will also be running a 6-month co-op house in Asheville starting in January.  It will be for six self-directed learners around the college-age who still want an awesome, community-based college-like environment to pursue their own interests in.  I’d highly recommend it; Asheville is the cutest town this side of the Mississippi with tons of opportunity and resources for self-education.  And I can testify that it is 100% easier and more inspirational to conduct your self-directed studies when surrounded by a bunch of people who are just like you, going the same non-college way!

Here are the details about the co-op house: http://www.ztcollege.com/ztc-house.php

 

So, I hope this helps and encourages you: there are opportunities for you and other people just like you to pursue those opportunities with!  I’ll keep letting you know about more – where there’s a will, there is a way when you decide to quit college.  Keep up the good work, y’all – you’re on the right track.

~Jess

2 responses to “College Rebellion Op: DIY with Structure

  1. Pingback: College Rebellion Op: DIY with Structure | Zero Tuition College | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: College Rebellion Op: DIY with Structure | Life Without College | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

